Skip to main content

Introducing the .eu eligibility for EEA Citizens

16 July 2020

On June 11, 2020 the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) published that they had reached an agreement with the EEA to incorporate Regulation 517/2019 into the EEA agreement.

The new regulation allows EEA citizens from Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland to register .eu and its variant scripts domain names regardless of their place of residence. The EU citizens were granted the same eligibility in October 2019.

In extending the citizenship rule to EEA nationals, the new Regulation aims to adapt to the fast-changing domain name industry and to strengthen and expand the link with the growing Digital Single Market, focusing on European values like multilingualism, privacy protection, and security.

EURid is working to make the necessary amendments to various documents and webpages to enable EEA citizens from Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland to enjoy this opportunity as of 2 September 2020.

Further information will be shared in a timely manner.