Skip to main content

Extension of citizenship criteria to EEA nationals

5 July 2021

All the EEA countries have now ratified the incorporation of the .eu Regulation in the EEA Agreement and the Joint Committee Decision (No 83/2020) incorporating Regulation (EU) 2019/517, as well as the Joint Committee Decision (No 119/2021) incorporating Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2020/1083 and Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/857, will enter into force on 1 August 2021.

Therefore, from 2 August 2021, the citizens of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are allowed to register .eu and its variants in other scripts regardless of their place of residence. EU citizens were granted the same eligibility in October 2019.

The Registration Policy and Terms and Conditions have been amended accordingly.